What is competency standard?

A competency standard is a document that specifies in a structured format how people should perform a job or work role. Competency standards attempt to capture the various dimensions that, when taken together, account for ‘competent’ performance.

Organizations use competency standards:

  • As a frame of reference for nominating how they expect job or work roles to be performed
  • To judge whether people are competent at their job or work role

Types of Competency Standards

There are two common types of competency standards.

  1. Standards that are recognized throughout the country and serve as the basis for assessment and formal qualifications. These are developed for and by an entire industry.
  2. Standards developed for a specific enterprise. These are sometimes called ‘in-house standards’.

In other words The building blocks of all training packages are competency standards – the nationally endorsed standards that form the basis for recognizing and assessing people’s skills. These are the benchmarks upon which all recognised training and assessment, are based.

A Training Package is a set of nationally endorsed standards and qualifications used to recognise and assess the skills and knowledge people need to perform effectively in the workplace.

The Purpose of Training Package:

  • Enable qualifications to be awarded through the direct assessment of competencies
  • Encourage the development and delivery of training to suit individual needs
  • Encourage learning in a workplace environment
  • Provide a pool of potential employees who meet nationally recognized standards of competence in a particular area.

The benefits of Training Package

  • Training meets the needs and requirements of industry and standards set by industry.
  • Qualifications are consistent and nationally recognized, making it easier for students to move between states and territories and for employers to hire people who have worked for other companies or moved from interstate.
  • Students and employees have the flexibility to choose how, when and where the training is undertaken.
  • Individuals and businesses are assured of the quality of training and qualifications in areas that specifically suit the needs of the enterprise.

Components of Training Package

A Training Package has two parts: endorsed components and support materials.

1) Endorsed components

The three compulsory endorsed components of a Training Package are:

a) National competency standards

the skills and knowledge a person must be able to demonstrate at work are defined by industry.

b) National qualifications

all qualifications (certificate I, II, III, IV, Diploma, Advanced Diploma) for an industry and the units of competency required for each qualification.

c)  Assessment guidelines

the requirements for an individual’s performance to meet the competency standards. They are designed to ensure judgments made by the people assessing the competence of an individual’s performance are valid, reliable, fair and consistent.

2) Support materials:

Training Package support materials are designed to support the delivery and assessment of the training. Generally they are learning strategies, assessment resources or professional development advice.